In what order should I buy the Arkham Horror LCG expansions? – Updated: July 15th 2023

Update 07-06-2021:  Updated the article with all expansions up to Edge of the Earth

Ofcourse, when you are looking to start with the Arkham Horror LCG, it stands without question that you should start with the base game or with one of Pc games about Arkham, you can find it on Gamegator. But once you have consumed all content and experimented with various deck builds from this set, it’s time to move on to fresh adventures. So, what’s next?


While you could start doing all expansions in chronological order, which absolutely is not a bad way to go about it. There is so much content created for this wonderful game you might as well go cherry picking what to play next. In my personal opinion, even when cherry picking your Arkham Horror LCG mythos packs, to keep your playing experience optimal it’s best to stick to full blocks. Although you can play any scenario standalone, it is not ideal and certainly not how you’d want to experience it for the first time.

Although people tend to each have a preference for one set or the other, most people would agree that the best way to enjoy the game is to play each cycle chronologically by starting with the deluxe set following up with the 6 mythos packs related to that cycle. The rest of the content such as the novella’s or stand-alone scenario’s can be played at any time during your journey 🙂

Proper standalones are Rougarou, Carnevale, Labyrinths of Lunacy, Murder at the Excelsior, Guardians of the Abyss, The Blob that Ate Everything, War of the Outer Gods and these are designed to be played standalone, although they can turn out to be pretty difficult.

All Arkham Horror LCG sets in chronological order

So here is a list of all sets in chronological order, this includes books, boxed sets, mythos packs etc. I will present them grouped by cycles and their respective release dates.

Core Set (Oct 14 2016)

  • Curse of the Rougarou (Nov 2016)
  • Carnevale of Horrors (Dec 2016)
  • The Dunwich Legacy Deluxe Set (Jan 2017)
    • The Miskatonic Museum (Feb 2017)
    • The Essex County Express (Mar 2017)
    • Blood on the Altar (Apr 2017)
    • Undimensioned and Unseen (May 2017)
    • Where Doom Awaits (Jun 2017)
    • Lost in Time and Space (Jul 2017)
  • Hour of the Huntress (Oct 2017)
  • Ire of the Void (Dec 2017)
  • The Path to Carcosa (Sep 21 2017)
    • Echoes of the Past (Oct 2017)
    • The Unspeakable Oath (Nov 2017)
    • A Phantom of Truth (Dec 2017)
    • The Pallid Mask (Jan 2018)
    • Black Stars Rise (Feb 2018)
    • Dim Carcosa (Mar 2018)
  • The Dirge of Reason (Feb 2018)
  • The Labyrinths of Lunacy (Jun 2018)
  • To Fight the Black Wind (Apr 2018)
  • The Deep Gate (Jun 2018)
  • The Forgotten Age (May 21 2018)
    • Threads of Fate (Jun 2018)
    • The Boundary Beyond (Jul 2018)
    • Heart of the Elders (Aug 2018)
    • The City of Archives (Sep 2018)
    • The Depths of Yoth (Oct 2018)
    • Shattered Aeons (Nov 2018)
  • Return to the Night of the Zealot (Jun 2018)
  • Guardians of the Abyss (Dec 2018) –> Includes Eternal Slumber and Night’s Usurper
  • Return to the Dunwich Legacy (Jan 2019)
  • The Circle Undone (Jan 31 2019)
    • The Secret Name (Mar 2019)
    • The Wages of Sin (Apr 2019)
    • For the Greater Good (May 2019)
    • Union and Disillusion (Jun 2019)
    • In the Clutches of Chaos (Jul 2019)
    • Before the Black Throne (Aug 2019)
  • Return to the Path to Carcosa (Sep 2019)
  • Murder at the Excelsior Hotel (Nov 2019)
  • The Dream-Eaters (27 Sep 2019)
    • The Search for Kadath (Nov 2019)
    • A Thousand Shapes of Horror (Dec 2019)
    • Dark Side of the Moon (Jan 2020)
    • Point of No Return (Feb 2020)
    • Where the Gods Dwell (Mar 2020)
    • Weaver of the Cosmos (Apr 2020)
  • The Blood of Baalshandor (Jun 2020)
  • The Blob That Ate Everything (9 July 2020)
  • Return to the Forgotten Age (Aug 2020)
  • Investigator Starter Decks (27 August 2020)
    • Nathaniel Cho
    • Harvey Walters
    • Winifred Habbamock
    • Jacqueline Fine
    • Stella Clark
  • Barkham Horror: The Meddling of Meowlathotep (Sept 2020)
  • The War of the Outer Gods (Dec 2020)
  • The Innsmouth Conspiracy (15 Oct 2020)
    • In Too Deep (Nov 2020)
    • Devil Reef (Dec 2020)
    • Horror in High Gear (Jan 2021)
    • A Light in the Fog (Feb 2021)
    • The Lair of Dagon (Mar 2021)
    • Into the Maelstrom (Apr 2021)

From this point forward Fantasy Flight Games is changing the distribution model of the game. Getting rid of the cycles with deluxe expansions and mythos pack, instead switching to a Campaign Expansion and an Investigator Expansion. The Campaign Expansion will contain all cards of a regular cycle with 4 to 10 scenarios, while the investigator expansion will contain 5 investigators. The investigators will be optimized for play with the campaign, so arguably it would be best to buy them together.

  • Edge of the Earth:
    • Investigator Expansion (Nov 2021)
    • Campaign Expansion (Dec 2021)
  • The Scarlet Keys:
    • Investigator Expansion (Sep 2022)
    • Campaign Expansion (Nov 2022)
  • Machinations Through Time (Feb 2022)
  • Fortune And Folly (Apr 2023)
  • The Blob that Ate Everything Else (Gen Con 2023)


Popular Opinion

Thanks to this Reddit poll, there seems to be some consensus on what to play after finishing Night of the Zealot:

Which is people’s preference to do after completing Night of the Zealot
by u/Nightrunner05 in arkhamhorrorlcg

Read more about Arkham Horror!

AHLCG Spoilers! The Scarlet Keys

AHLCG Rumors! Upcoming Monte Carlo Scenario Pack teased at GenCon

When will Return to the Dream-Eaters be announced?

Arkham Horror LCG – Edge of the Earth announced and Revised Core leak

Arkham Horror Files – What will FFG be announcing?

Arkham Horror LCG Rumors! Return of the Circle undone

share post:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Very Cool Card Games